diya 

(she/her)

i am a 24-year-old writer and artist raised in new york and singapore. i recently graduated from northeastern university with a degree in english and communications. in the last few years, home has fluctuated for me between boston and london, where my sister lives; however, my heart is in india, where i spent every summer and winter of my life until i was eighteen.

i like to think that my interests and passions are boundless, but i focus on a few spheres of work: storytelling, advocacy/justice, and art. within this structure, i am interested in the politics of language, cultural studies/criticism (specifically south asian studies), and sexual justice. i also dedicate a lot of my energy to community, and i enjoy work that echoes this. 

storytelling

i believe everything tells a story, and that our ability to connect with one another is informed by storytelling. my most cherished forms of storytelling are through visual art, creative nonfiction, poetry, and music. 

advocacy/justice

my undergraduate experience encouraged me to push the boundaries of storytelling through advocacy. i am interested in anti-colonial justice, with a particular focus on south asian studies. i am also an advocate for sexual justice, education, and empowerment.

art and literature

my interest in art is inherited from my grandmother and mother. i have a deep appreciation and love for painting, graphic design, clothing, textiles, language, and interior design. while i adopt a broad understanding of these categories, i am fascinated by how they take form in south asia. 


 

Using Format